BREAKING : Lawan emerges new Senate President

Sen. Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan, new Nigerian Senate President

The Leader of the 8th Senate, Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan representating the Yobe North Senatorial District has emerged the Senate President of the 9th Senate.

Lawan who was endorsed by his party, the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC and President Muhammadu Buhari scored a total of 79 votes out of 107 total votes cast to defeat his rival, Sen. Ali Ndume who scored 28 votes.

The new Senate President has taken oath of office administered by the Clerk of the National Assembly.

The Senators-elect are now proceeding for the election of the deputy Senate President.

Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege from Delta State is the preferred candidate of the APC for the position.

Politics 5996851787456479256

Post a Comment


Home item

Popular Posts

Contact Us


Email *

Message *