BIU Confers Jedy-Agba With Doctorate Degree In Public Admin

From L-R: Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Hon. Philip Shaibu, Honourable Minister of State, Power, Goddy Jedy Agba, OFR, Group Managing Director of The Rose of Sharon Group and Vice Chairman of Famfa Oil, Folorunsho Alakija and President of Benson Idahosa University, Bishop F. E. Benson Idahosa during the 16th convocation ceremony of Benson Idahosa University. 

The Honourable Minister of State, Power, Goddy Jedy Agba , OFR, has been conferred with an Honourary Doctorate Degree (Honoris Causa) in Public Administration by the Benson Idahosa University, (BIU).

Agba got the Honourary Doctorate on Saturday July 17th during the 16th convocation ceremony of the University held at the University Legacy campus in Benin City, Edo State.

Apostle Folorunsho Alakija, the Group Managing Director of The Rose of Sharon Group and Vice Chairman of Famfa Oil Limited who's ranked by Forbes as the richest woman in Nigeria was also awarded an Honourary Doctorate Degree in Business Administration.

President of the University presenting the Minister with his certificate 

Speaking at the event, the Minister commended the University for distinguishing itself in terms of academic excellence through training and producing world class graduates that can compete favourably with their peers anywhere in the world.

The Minister delivering his addressing 

Agba congratulated the graduating students even as he charged them to go out and be good ambassadors of the University and the country.

While expressing his excitement for the honour, he encouraged the graduans to apply the skills they've learned positively by becoming job creators and not job seekers.

He pledged to galvanize support among his friends to institute an endowment funds for the building of a structure for the University's law faculty which he said should be named after his wife who's a Lawyer.

According to him, "I'm very excited to be part of the Benson Idahosa University's family. Honestly, I don't know how and why I was chosen for this great honour because I don't consider myself worthy for this. I thank the University Senate and management for finding me worthy for this award.

I pledge that I'll support the University in any way I can. We will work to support the University by galvanizing support to build a structure for the Law faculty and I'll want the facility to be named after my wife who's a Lawyer when completed".

The Minister, Proc-Chancellor and Chairman of Governing Council of the University, Prof. Pat Utomi and the Deputy Governor of Edo State discussing 

Earlier in his address, the Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Sam Guobadia said that the two awardees were carefully selected in view of their achievements and contributions to nation building.

He added that the University was graduating a total of 523 students which include 37 First Class, 382 second class honours, 16 third class and 88 postgraduates to include 7 doctorates, 39 Masters and 42 diplomas.

Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Hon. Philip Shaibu, in his address said that the achievements of the University aligned with the vision of the Godwin Obaseki's led administration vision to transform the education sector.

He pledged that the Edo State government will partner the University to continue to grow and develop the education sector in the state to make it a reference point for others.

Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Power, William Aloh, Managing Director of Rural Electrification Agency, Engr. Ahmad Salihijo, Managing Director of Nigeria Electricity Management Services Agency, Engr. Peter Ewesor, Managing Director of Nigerian Bulk Electricity Trading, Mr. Nnaemeka Eweluka, Chief of Staff to the Minister, Mr. Joel Dimla and a host of other dignitaries graced the occasion.
Politics 5496639224035660137

Post a Comment


Home item

Popular Posts

Contact Us


Email *

Message *