Buhari Appoint Ochicha, 24 others Chairmen of Federal Poly Boards

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Mr. Odey Ochicha as Chairman of the governing Board of the Federal Polytechnic, Ile-Oluji, Ondo State.

Ochicha was the Cross River State gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressive Congress, APC in the 2015 elec

In a statement on Friday by the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, Buhari approved the reconstitution of  the Governing Boards of 24 other Federal Polytechnics and 21 Federal Colleges of Education in the country.

The boards are statutorily responsible for the governance and overall policy formulation for the institution concerned.

The President Buhari, in making the appointments of the chairpersons and members of the respective Boards, apart from ensuring geopolitical spread, was also guided by the stipulated requirements for such appointments as contained in each of the Acts establishing the institutions according to Adamu.

“In this respect, each of the appointees is required to, among others, posses a minimum of a National Diploma and be a person of impeccable integrity with a strong commitment to technical education,” he said.

The affected polytechnics and their respective chairmen are as follows:Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic Unwana, Afikpo, has Dr J.T. Orkar as the chairman; Auchi Polytechnic, Auchi, Chief Michael Olanrewaju Oloko; Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti, Chief Austin Adeze; Federal Polytechnic, Bali, Mrs Yalwa Tahir; and Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi, Alhaji Abubakar Dantata.

President Buhari also appointed ProfessorMuhammad Sani Yakya, chairman, Governing Board of Federal Polytechnic, Bida; Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu, Alhaji Mohammed Abubakar; Federal Polytechnic, Ede, Professor Nasir Yauri; Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe, Professor Eddy Olanipekun; and Federal Polytechnic, Idah, Dr Ibrahim Liman Sifawa.

Others are: Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Professor Abubakar Ahmed Sadauki; Federal Polytechnic, Ile-Oluji, Chief Odey Ochicha; Federal Polytechnic, Kaura Namoda, Professor Kingsley Dakeni Alagoa; Federal Polytechnic, Mubi, Mr Bassey Usang Bassey; Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa, Professor Godwin Sogolo; Federal Polytechnic, Nekede, Owerri, Chief Edwin Ogunbor; and Federal Polytechnic, Offa, Chief Osekula Zikora.

Also constituted are the Governing Boards of Federal Polytechnic, Oko, with Chief Lasbury Amadi as chairman; Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas, Bonny, SenatorUcha Julius; Federal Polytechnic, Ukana, Professor Ike Udabah; Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure, Chief Abayomi Daramola; Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna, Alhaji Yusuf Hassan; National Institute of Construction Technology, Uromi, Professor David Adewunmi; Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin-Kebbi, Dr Ismail Biodun Layi Oni; and Yaba College of Technology, Yaba, Mr  Lateef Fagbemi.

The statement said the new Governing Boards (comprising the chairmen and members) of the Polytechnics and the Colleges of Education are to be inaugurated on a date to be announced soon.

Meanwhile, affected Federal Colleges of Education and their respective Chairmen are as follows: Federal College of Education, Oyo, Alhaji Abubakar Galadima; Federal College of Education, Asaba, F.G. Ibrahim; Federal College of Education, Osiele-Abeokuta, Alhaji Saidu Isa; Federal College of Education, Kano, S.L. Abubakar; Federal College of Education, Eha-Amufu, Dr Lawan Bukar Alhaji; and Federal College of Education, Okene, Mr Saad Abubakar.

Federal College of Education (Technical), Gombe, has Mr Hasan Al-Badawi chairman;  Federal College of Education (Technical), Omoku, Professor Aminu Mikailu; Federal College of Education, Kontagora, Comrade Aminu Abdusalam Gwarzo; Federal College of Education, Zaria, Dr Bello Yusuf Lafiagi; Federal College of Education, Pankshin, Dr IbrahimGarba; and Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri, Alex Hartt.

The president also approved the appointment of  Mrs Almona Mercy Ise, as Chairman, Governing Board of Federal College of Education, Yola; Federal Collegeof Education (Technical), Potiskum, E.O. Adegbite; Federal College of Education (Technical), Gusau, Senator Iyabo Anisulowo; Federal College of Education (Technical), Akoka, Honourable IheneachoObioma, Federal College of Education, Katsina, Dr Danjuma Sulai; and Federal College of Education (Technical), Bichi, Alh. Ibrahim Bolaji Bello.

Federal College of Education, Obudu, Dr Anthony Obi; Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo,  Professor N.C. Ohazurike; and Federal College of Education, Umunze, Dr Hasan Lawan.

Politics 522427410724699382

Post a Comment


Home item

Popular Posts

Contact Us


Email *

Message *